//Favicon for web and mobile


Kappa Alpha Psi was founded on the campus of Indiana University on January 5, 1911. The Fraternity’s fundamental purpose is achievement.

Early in this century, African-American students were actively dissuaded from attending college. Formidable obstacles were erected to prevent the few who were enrolled from assimilating into co-curricular campus life. This ostracism characterized Indiana University in 1911, thus causing Elder Watson Diggs, Ezra Dee Alexander, Byron K. Armstrong, Henry T. Asher, Marcus P. Blakemore, Paul W. Caine, George W. Edmonds, Guy L. Grant, Edward G. Irvin and John Milton Lee to form Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, which will remain the only Greek Letter organization with its Alpha Chapter on the University’s campus.

The founders sought a formula that would immediately raise the sights of black collegians and stimulate them to accomplishments higher than they might have imagined.

Fashioning achievement as it’s purpose, Kappa Alpha Psi began uniting college men of culture patriotism and honor in a bond of fraternity.

Elder Watson Diggs | Biography
Byron Kenneth Armstrong | Biography
Ezra Dee Alexander | Biography
Henry Tourner Asher | Biography
Marcus Peter Blakemore | Biography
Paul Waymond Caine | Biography
George Wesley Edmonds | Biography
Guy Levis Grant | Biography
Edward Giles Irvin | Biography
John Milton Lee | Biography

Objectives of Kappa Alpha Psi:

  1. To unite college men of culture, patriotism and honor in a bond of Fraternity;
  2. To encourage honorable achievement in every field of human endeavor;
  3. To promote the spiritual, social, intellectual and moral welfare of members;
  4. To assist the aims and purposes of colleges and universities;
  5. To inspire to service in the public interest

Visit the International Headquarters website for more information.